What's your biggest challenge in Website development?

bryce12

Hey guys,

What kind of challenges do you face during website development? For me the biggest challenge is to ensure that my website appears the same in all the browsers. Different browsers support different implementations, so arriving at something that works best under different conditions is surely a huge challenge. What about you?

Bryce

I'd agree with that. making the designs look right in all of them is really not easy, especially since, no matter how nice and clean your code is IE for instance will have a mind of its own. Sometimes adjusting a layout to be cross-browser compatible can take a lot of time, maybe more than working on it initially.

The layout is my biggest problem. Since I'm a freelance writer, content's not a problem but I really have no clue about the artistic side of things and that's a serious liability. I'm already worrying about it for my upcoming (big) site. Even apparently simple things like the choice of colours can have a dramatic effect on the way the site is seen by people and that's frightening for someone like me. I have plenty of understanding of what's WRONG when I look at other sites but seeing that in my own - and correcting it - is a real blind spot for me.

Traffic :P

This should help: http://scrawlbug.com/2011/06/12/49-ways-to-bring-more-traffic-to-your-blog-or-website/ :D

It takes time to build decent traffic, that much is for sure. Avoid crappy traffic options like exchanges, paid visits, PTC and so on - go for the long-term drivers that will keep working no matter how many months go by.

I like the way you only have 11 :P I only just noticed it was your article by the avatar in the comments at the bottom.

I have done most of these, and currently waiting on a much needed update to the main application (Simple, but important)