How do you gain followers on Twitter?

I have heard that Twitter is better than Facebook at promoting something. Unfortunately I have been unable to get any benefit out of it, because after 4 months since I created an account for my web site, I have only 9 followers on Twitter. I tweet every article and sometimes popular threads on my forum. But of course, there isn't any noticiable traffic from it because I can't get the word out with just 9 followers.

I am a noob on Twitter, and I have absolutely no idea how to make myself or my forum popular on Twitter. Any tips on how to use Twitter? I need lots of followers...targeted followers.

I don't have many followers either. Just a couple of hundred. What I do is follow other people. Very often they follow back. It won't go boom overnight. Not if you are looking for genuine followers. Just make it a target to follow ten persons a day. Do that everyday for 30 and you will surely see an increase in the number of people who follow you.

• Administrators

Yes aside from being a massive site, celebrity, famous, or a big business you will not gain a whole lot of followers without following others. Plus when you follow others to get them to follow you can then target. Build a list of people that you would like to follow you. Then go follow them, almost always people will follow you back as a common courtesy or they have software involved that will automatically do it.

The key to gaining more followers is to follow the followers of an authority figure in your niche. If you want to get more followers and traffic then you need to get involved and comment, retweet interesting posts in your niche. You will have to follow others to gain more followers, there are no two ways about it. Think of Twitter as a long term commitment and as an opportunity to connect with your subscribers and customers and you'll go a long way.