Is It Possible To Learn Basic Programming On The Net?

Rainman

I've always had an interest in learning any programming language to make applications for myself. In addition to that since creating apps can be very lucrative business it would be quite rewarding if something you created for fun made you lots of money.

I've looked around a few sites but I just couldn't fathom what they were trying to get across. Could it be I'm too old to learn a programming language or did I just land on the wrong sites?

Do any of you think it's possible for anyone to learn programming by using tutorials posted on the net?

Edited by Rainman

It's very possible, but you might have been coming across the wrong sites, you know? Maybe they were aimed more at intermediate programmers rather than absolute beginners, which is what I assume you are.

You might want to look into Code Academy and Khan Academy as they both offer beginners tutorials which you can go through at your own pace. Or if you prefer a more rigorous course, you could always look into the online courses offered by universities such as MIT and Harvard.

Hi Rainman. What sort of programming languages would you like to study? It's very much possible to learn programming using online resources such as tutorials, as you mentioned. But this takes a bit of determination on your part because you will need to do the practice and evaluate yourself.

A better option would be to take free online courses. These are actually much easier than it sounds: they usually last between 6 and 10 weeks. Each week you have a few videos to watch, about an hour or so in total, which explain the essentials. Then, you have the practical exercises: you get to actually write code and submit it online for evaluation. You also have multiple-choice quizes to answer, these are usually not that difficult. You can find interesting courses on Coursera and EdX, depending on what you're interested in. Let me know if you would like more advice about this.